Tuftonboro, a town in Carroll County NH, on the shores of beautiful Lake Winnipesaukee was first granted as Tuftonborough in 1750 and incorporated in 1795. It is the only town incorporated in New Hampshire to be owned by one person, John Tufton Mason.

Tuftonboro has a total of 50.1 square miles of which 41.1 square miles is land and 8.9 square miles is water. There are 3 post offices in the town serving the villages/areas of Mirror Lake, Melvin Village and Center Tuftonboro. There is also postal service from Wolfeboro and Moultonborough.  There are 3 state roads running south to north through Tuftonboro – Route 109 (Governor Wentworth Highway), Route 109A (Middle Road) and Route 171 (Mountain Road).

Lake Winnipesaukee has 274 islands with 27 of them located in Tuftonboro. Tuftonboro’s population dramatically increases during the summer months more than doubling our year-round population of approximately 2500. Tuftonboro visitors can visit the Indian Grave by the Lake, the view from Abenakee Tower, a vibrant Historical Society, hiking trails, scenic roads and mountain vistas. We also offer two public beaches on the lake and several boat launches for boating or kayaking. In winter ice fishing and cross country skiing is very popular. The fall offers stunning foliage and the very popular salmon stripping at Pope Dam.